All events

How to be Funny without trying – a workshop with Jamie Wood

  • Thu 8 May – Sat 10 May, 2:36pm

In this workshop participants will be introduced to a world of clown and invited to play and explore what is funny about them when they stop trying.

O NO! by Jamie Wood

  • Tue 20 May – Sat 24 May, 7:30pm

Recommended for ages 12+

Following the success of last year's Beating McEnroe, Jamie Wood returns to Ovalhouse with a first draft of some ideas for his new show: a wonky homage to the woman damned for destroying the Beatles.

  • Wheelchair Access

TEN WOMEN by Jackdaw

  • Tue 27 May – Sat 31 May, 7:30pm

Society is increasingly consumer driven, media controlled, materialistic and image obsessed.
We are constantly bombarded by unrealistic, false and unobtainable images of women.
Have we forgotten what real is?

  • Wheelchair Access

HEART by ZENDEH

  • Tue 3 Jun – Sat 7 Jun, 7:30pm

Fri 6 June: BSL interpreted performance and Q+A

HEART is an explosive political and sensual love story told through a dynamic cocktail of physical theatre and performance poetry.  Taking place between Durham and Tehran as a British and American orchestrated coup d’état destabilises a nation, an intoxicating love triangle unravels.

  • British Sign Language
  • Wheelchair Access

Travesty by Alex Swift

  • Wed 11 Jun – Sat 14 Jun, 7:45pm

Travesty is a punked-up, broken-down drag show about patriarchy, an ugly/beautiful/tender/desperate/stupid/funny/sad dance around man's inhumanity to woman. We meet without our weapons.

The Ted Bundy Project by Greg Wohead

  • Tue 17 Jun – Sat 21 Jun, 7:30pm

Adult themes and content, recommended for ages 16+

A solo performance that began with an interest in Ted Bundy, the American serial killer who confessed to the murders of around 30 young women between 1974 and 1978.

THIS IS HOW WE DIE by Christopher Brett Bailey

  • Tue 17 Jun – Sat 21 Jun, 8:45pm

Adult themes and content, recommended for ages 16+

Tales of paranoia, young love and ultra-violence...a spiralling odyssey of pitch-black humour and nightmarish prose...

  • Wheelchair Access

Transforming Stories: a triple bill

  • Wed 25 Jun – Sat 28 Jun, 7:45pm

A triple bill of 3 new Queer commissions, presented in-development.

Fosterling by Zoe Palmer

  • Tue 1 Jul – Sat 5 Jul, 7:30pm

1914.  In a small Yorkshire Village a woman raises her eight children and mixed-race foster child against the backdrop of impending war. Fosterling explores themes of resilience, love and simple human kindness during an era fraught with grief and uncertainty.

  • Wheelchair Access

The Ayn Lady by Barker & Larkin

  • Wed 2 Jul – Sat 5 Jul, 7:45pm

Barker & Larkin attempt to crack through the Russian-doll layers of individualist, author and philosopher, Ayn Rand. Why do her questionable beliefs still resonate so strongly? 

Chigger Foot Boys by Patricia Cumper

  • Tue 8 Jul – Sat 12 Jul, 7:30pm

Preview Tues 8 July all tickets £6.00

Chigger Foot Boys is based on real events in the lives of the Jamaicans who fought for Britain and the Empire during World War 1.

How To Win Against History by Seiriol Davies

  • Wed 9 Jul – Sat 12 Jul, 7:45pm

The 5th Marquis of Anglesey was one of the Earth's wealthiest men, until he lost it all by being too damn fabulous. A ripped-up, hilarious musical about this gorgeous tragedy.