What’s on

Autumn 2017

This season is about people who are ‘unseen’ in our communities: children in care, whistle-blowers, sex-workers, gay men in the Pakistani community, asylum seekers and transgender people. Often people remain unseen because their stories are uncomfortable to hear. This season, we give voice to those who are unheard. Louise Wallwein presents Glue: her bold and unflinching production about growing up in care; The Secret Keeper explores why those who keep our secrets are always destroyed by them; Nikah tells the story of a forced marriage from the male Pakistani perspective; and The Sex Workers Opera takes us on an honest and joyous journey into the world of the sex trade.

Dennis of Penge by Annie Siddons

  • Wed 20 Sep – Thu 21 Sep, 7:45pm

A new spoken word piece with masterful storytelling and music about poverty, addiction, friendship, ecstasy, chicken, love, and SE20. 

Innovate Drama Workshop

  • Thursdays, 28 September – 14 December, 5.20pm – 7.20pm (excluding half term)

Ignite Dance Workshop

  • Wednesdays, 27 September – 13 December, 5.20pm – 7.20pm (excluding half term)

A Time of Listening

  • Thu 28 Sep – Fri 29 Sep, 7:45pm

Can one moment change the course of a lifetime?

Can one moment change over the course of a lifetime?

#CONNECT: Out Thinkers

  • Mon 2 Oct, 6:00pm

A celebration of the lives and work of LGBT+ scientists. 

Glue by Louise Wallwein

  • Tue 3 Oct – Sat 7 Oct, 7:30pm

Glue is a comedic live art performance fuelled by rhythmic poetry. It's a show about getting to grips with our family relationships and therefore our identities.

  • Wheelchair Access

The Secret Keeper by Angela Clerkin

  • WEDS 11 - SAT 21 OCT (no perfs SUN 15 & MON 16) Previews WEDS 11 & THURS 12

A political fairytale for adults with songs, macabre magpies, and a murderous gothic heart.

  • Wheelchair Access

OPPORTUNITY – PRACTITIONERS DAY – OPEN CALL

  • Thursday 12 October 10am-1pm and 2pm-5pm

Ovalhouse are delighted to announce our first open call Practitioners Day.

  • Wheelchair Access

Get your Sh*t Together with Will Bourdillon

  • Mon 16 Oct, 10:00am

We know freelance isn’t easy. 

  • Wheelchair Access

Playwriting Workshops with Papatango Theatre

  • Tue 17 Oct, Fri 10 Nov, or Fri 1 Dec, 10:00am

Papatango are committed to giving new writers the best possible opportunities. 

  • Wheelchair Access

Fragments by Laura Swift and Russell Bender

  • Thu 19 Oct – Sat 21 Oct, 7:45pm

Melding ancient and modern, Fragments asks whether the way we see the world is really how it is.

Dr. Zeiffal, Dr. Zeigal and The Hippo That Can Never Be Caught!

  • Tue 24 Oct – Sat 28 Oct, 2:00pm

HALF TERM SHOW

Calling all hippo expert enthusiasts!

Award-winning family comedy that will have kids storming the stage.

  • Wheelchair Access