All events

Boy in a Dress

Written by La JohnJoseph. Performed by La JohnJoseph and Anna Lewenhaupt.

Autobiographical, raucously political, and accidentally profound, Boy in a Dress follows the life story thus far of La JohnJoseph, a third-gendered, fallen Catholic, ex-fashion model from the wrong side of the tracks.
 

  • Audio loop
  • British Sign Language
  • Tue 14 Feb – Sat 3 Mar, 8:00pm

Saturday Matinees 2.30pm

Venue: Downstairs

Time Out's Critics' Choice ****

What's On the Fringe ****

The Public Reviews ****

 

'...an immensely moving glimpse into another human’s life...' Laurence Sullivan, A Younger Theatre.

 

Autobiographical, raucously political, and accidentally profound, Boy in a Dress follows the life story thus far of La JohnJoseph, a third-gendered, fallen Catholic, ex-fashion model from the wrong side of the tracks as she moves from the council estates of Bootle to the strip clubs of San Francisco.

Catholicism and drag, public sexuality and body dysmorphia. La JohnJoseph brings together an outrageous but heartfelt slew of true-life tales studded with her own reworkings of iconic songs from wide ranging artists such as Leonard Cohen, Justin Vivian Bond and Cole Porter.

Boy in a Dress is a frank and almost charming triptych uniting all three of La JohnJoseph’s solo memoir shows: I Happen To Like New York, Underclass Hero  and Notorious Beauty, in a ’retrospectacle’ exploring the intersection of class, gender, religion and identity formation from a somewhat unique cultural perspective.

Director: Sarah Chew. Musical Director: Jordan Hunt. Set Designer: Cleo Pettitt.

 

For more thoughts on the themes around Boy In a Dress have a look at La JonhJoseph's blog in The Independent!
 

Links:

"Poutily poignant, bracingly glacial and as sharp as a broken nail…finds humor and pathos in aesthetically informed autobiography"  - Time Out London

"Like Cindy Sherman dressing as David Bowie, dressing as Cindy Sherman" - New York Magazine


"Languishes lugubriously...a delight" - Whatsonstage

“A true star in ascendance” - QX

  • Tue 14 Feb, 8:00pm
  • Wed 15 Feb, 8:00pm
  • Thu 16 Feb, 8:00pm
  • Fri 17 Feb, 8:00pm
  • Sat 18 Feb, 2:30pm
  • Sat 18 Feb, 8:00pm
  • Tue 21 Feb, 8:00pm
  • Wed 22 Feb, 8:00pm
  • Thu 23 Feb, 8:00pm
  • Fri 24 Feb, 8:00pm
  • Sat 25 Feb, 2:30pm
  • Sat 25 Feb, 8:00pm
  • Tue 28 Feb, 8:00pm
  • Wed 29 Feb, 8:00pm
  • Thu 1 Mar, 8:00pm
  • Fri 2 Mar, 8:00pm
  • Sat 3 Mar, 2:30pm
  • Sat 3 Mar, 8:00pm

Additional information

BSL interpreted performance Thursday 1 March.
AUDIO DESCRIBED performance Friday 2 March.

FREE POST-SHOW DISCUSSIONS:
Weds 22 Feb - "Where is Queer Theatre today?" in-Conversation with La JohnJoseph, Thom Shaw & Miss Annabel Sings
Weds 29 feb - Q&A with La JohnJoseph, Director Sarah Chew and the Creative Team

 

 

Presented as a part of Ovalhouse's If only... season

Click an image to view a larger version.

We thought you may like…

The Well and Badly Loved

Tue 13 Mar – Sat 31 Mar, 7:45pm

A queer extravaganza of love and loss. Funny, sad and full of feeling, this innovative trilogy dances betwen intimate details and a wider historical picture, excavating the simple story of a love affair in all its gorgeous complexity.

GOD/HEAD by Chris Goode & Company FINAL WEEK

Tue 21 Feb – Sat 10 Mar, 7:45pm

In this brand new documentary piece, award-winning writer and storyteller Chris Goode explores the flipside of the familiar crisis of faith: what if there really is a God after all?
"one of the most exciting talents working in Britain today" The Guardian