All events

The Thelmas and Ovalhouse present

Coconut

By Guleraana Mir. Directed by Madelaine Moore.

Ever feel like you are constantly disappointing people?

  • Wheelchair Access
  • Weds 11 - Sat 28 April 7.30pm (no shows Sun or Mon), PREVIEW Weds 11 April

Running time: 90 mins (no interval)

Venue: Downstairs

Meet Rumi, a British Pakistani woman who’s referred to as a ‘Coconut’ (brown on the outside, white on the inside). Born and brought up as a Muslim, Rumi spends more time enjoying fine wine and bacon than being at the mosque.

When she meets Simon, a white guy, she hopes that his decision to convert to Islam will be enough to keep everyone happy. However, as Simon begins to explore his faith, Rumi’s world spins off its axis in ways she could never have predicted.

‘Mir’s writing is side-achingly funny ... hits both a zeitgeist and the universality of coming to terms with your own identity.’ - FemaleArts

Twitter: @TheThelmas
Facebook: TheThelmasUK

14 years +
Contains emotional coercion, religious coercion, gender based violence.

All performances will be captioned by The Difference Engine - please contact the Box Office for details

Links:

  • Wed 11 Apr, 7:30pm
  • Thu 12 Apr, 7:30pm
  • Fri 13 Apr, 7:30pm
  • Sat 14 Apr, 7:30pm
  • Tue 17 Apr, 7:30pm
  • Wed 18 Apr, 7:30pm
  • Thu 19 Apr, 7:30pm
  • Fri 20 Apr, 7:30pm
  • Sat 21 Apr, 7:30pm
  • Tue 24 Apr, 7:30pm
  • Wed 25 Apr, 7:30pm
  • Thu 26 Apr, 7:30pm
  • Fri 27 Apr, 7:30pm
  • Sat 28 Apr, 7:30pm

Directed by Madelaine Moore. Designed by Baska Wesolowska
Lighting Design by Jennifer Rose

Rumi – Kuran Dohil

Simon – Jimmy Carter

Riz/Imam – Tibu Fortes

Additional information

POST-SHOW DISCUSSION:

14th April 2018

How Do We keep women at the centre of the story (even if it fails the bechdel test)? 

On Saturday 14th April Bechdel Theatre will be hosting a post-show audience discussion around the themes of the play. 

 

Saturday 21st April
50 Shades of Representation - How do we move past the ‘d’ word?


The panel;
Janet Baker the WEP candidate for Brixton Hill
Titilola Dawudu Co-producer of Hear Me Now: A Collection of Audition Monologues for BAME Actors and Learning& Participation Manager, Ovalhouse
Vinay Patel Writer True Brits, Murdered by my Father, An Adventure
Victoria Sadler Arts and Culture writer and activist for women creatives in theatre
Clarissa Widya of Applecart Arts, Papergang Theatre and Artistic Director Leadership Programme
Chaired by Tobi Kyeremateng producer and arts activist (Old Vic 12, Bush Theatre, Brainchild Festival)

Tuesday 24th April
There will be post-show discussion with the cast and creative team on the process of making Coconut, hosted by Ovalhouse's Head of Theatre, Owen Calvert-Lyons 

 

 

Coconut has been kindly supported by the New Diorama Theatre Emerging Company Programme and Park Theatre.

Supported using public funding from the National Lottery through Arts Council England.

Greg Veit Photography.

 

 

 

 

 


 

 


 

Click an image to view a larger version.