All events

BRIT school for Performing Arts and Technology presents

Decades by Leo Butler

An Ovalhouse Theatre-Hire event. Leo Butler's anarchic, kaleidoscopic epic that explores the changing hopes and rebellions of British teenagers from 1916 to the present day.

  • Wheelchair Access
  • 7-25 JUNE, Tues-Sat 7.30pm

Running time: 80 minutes

Venue: Downstairs

Modern life isn't easy, and it never has been. 

This explosive new play by Leo Butler transports us through time, looking at what happens when the next generation begin to find their feet in an ever changing world. 

Through a kaleidoscope of characters, we see tensions rocket and values crumble, exposing the best and worst of what it means to be human. 

This epic roller coaster combines euphoria and despair as different generations of young people ask the same question: where do we go from here?

 

DEVELOPING NEW WRITING – DECADES
Ovalhouse Creative Youth and the BRIT School are offering 2 free workshops in conjunction with Decades:

Thurs 16 June 6–7pm: Decades – networking event
Meet members of the cast and creative team of Leo Butler’s new play Decades and attend the show at Ovalhouse.


Thurs 23 June 4–6.30pm: Decades – a creative response
Work with members of the cast and creative team of Decades to create your own response to the themes and issues of the play.

Both these workshops are free when booked with a ticket to Decades: just select the ticket that includes your chosen workshop when booking for Decades.
(Participants at the Networking Event will automatically be offered a place on the Creative Response event too)

Suitable for ages 16+

  • Tue 7 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Wed 8 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Thu 9 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Fri 10 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Sat 11 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Tue 14 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Wed 15 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Thu 16 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Fri 17 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Sat 18 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Tue 21 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Wed 22 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Thu 23 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Fri 24 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Sat 25 Jun, 7:30pm

The Bridge Theatre Company return to Ovalhouse after the success of their 2015 show ‘Reality’. This year, a new company of BRIT School graduates team up with playwright Leo Butler (BOY, Almeida Theatre, Made of Stone, Lucky Dog, Faces In The Crowd all Royal Court Theatre, I’ll Be The Devil RSC/Tricycle Theatre, Come To Where I’m From Paines Plough/Sheffield Crucible) and director Eva Sampson.

Written by Leo Butler

Directed by Eva Sampson

Designer Susannah Henry

Lighting Designer Andy Purves

Sound Designer Giles Thomas

Additional information

Supported by the Andrew Lloyd Webber Foundation.

Click an image to view a larger version.