All events

Ovalhouse and Little Soldier Productions present

Derailed

Direction and dramaturgy by Ben Kidd and Jesse Briton

Spanish artists Patricia and Mercè are leaving the UK and you're invited to join their... 'leaving party'.

  • Wheelchair Access
  • Weds 21 February - Sat 3 March 7.30pm (not Sun 25 or Mon 26), PREVIEW Weds 21 February

Tickets

  • Full: £15
  • Concession: £10
  • Under 26: £9

Running time: 75 minutes

Venue: Downstairs

Book /  Box office: 020 7582 7680

Twelve years after arriving in the UK, with too many heartbreaks to count, one child, half a marathon, 5 drum lessons and a permanently overdrawn bank account, Patricia and Mercè are feeling the post-Brexit blues. Fuelled by rage at the state of world, they want to turn anger into positive action. So what else is there to do apart from host the mother of all leaving parties with gazpacho, live rock music, dancing, pig noses, Theresa May, the Dalai Lama, and Cava to toast an uncertain future.

As riotous and joyous as it is silly, this is their unpredictable but heartfelt story of belonging, failure, and wanting to change the world. Are they really going to say goodbye to the UK for ever?

A show for anyone who’s ever hoped to make a difference, from the award winning Little Soldier, mentored by Spymonkey, makers of The Ingenious Gentleman Don Quixote of La Mancha.

“A riot of invention and risk-taking” - THE SCOTSMAN


Age 14+

Links:

  • Wed 21 Feb, 7:30pm
  • Thu 22 Feb, 7:30pm
  • Fri 23 Feb, 7:30pm
  • Sat 24 Feb, 7:30pm
  • Tue 27 Feb, 7:30pm
  • Wed 28 Feb, 7:30pm
  • Thu 1 Mar, 7:30pm
  • Fri 2 Mar, 7:30pm
  • Sat 3 Mar, 7:30pm

Additional information

Photograph by Pau Ros.
Jesse Briton is an Ovalhouse Associate Artist.

Produced in association with Larking Arts and originally commissioned by HOME, Manchester.
Supported using public funding from the National Lottery through Arts Council England.

Book /  Box office: 020 7582 7680

Click an image to view a larger version.