All events

Random Selfies

By Mike Kenny. Directed by Owen Calvert-Lyons. Performed by Natalia Hinds. Designed by Rachana Jadhav.

Performed on a digitally animated set, Random Selfies by award-winning playwright Mike Kenny brings to life the vivid imagination of ten-year-old Loretta; a lonely girl in a busy world.

  • Wheelchair Access
  • Tues 27 March - Sat 7 April 2.00pm (not Sun 1 or Mon 2 April)

Running time: 55 mins

Venue: Downstairs

If I lived in the middle of nowhere, you could understand it.
If I was halfway up a mountain.
Or at the side of a lake.
And I had no brothers or sisters.
Well, you could understand it.
Couldn’t you.
If I said I was lonely.
But I’m not any of that.
I live in a flat.
In one of the biggest cities on the planet.
I’m never alone.
But I am lonely.

 

A new play by Olivier Award-winning playwright Mike Kenny and designed by illustrator Rachana Jadhav. Commissioned by Ovalhouse as part of a three-year exploration into the impact of child loneliness.

Age 7-13

Wednesday 4 April: BSL interpreted performance with Jacqui Beckford.

 

To book a family ticket, add 2 standard tickets and 2 Under 16s tickets to your basket and pay just £28, a saving of £6.

 
Mike Kenny was included in the Independent on Sunday’s list of Top Ten Living Playwrights.

 

  • Wed 28 Mar, 2:00pm
  • Thu 29 Mar, 1:00pm
  • Fri 30 Mar, 2:00pm
  • Sat 31 Mar, 2:00pm
  • Tue 3 Apr, 2:00pm
  • Wed 4 Apr, 2:00pm
  • Thu 5 Apr, 2:00pm
  • Fri 6 Apr, 2:00pm
  • Sat 7 Apr, 2:00pm

Written by Mike Kenny

Directed by Owen Calvert-Lyons

Designed by Rachana Jadhav

Performed by Natalia Hinds

Additional information

Supported by the Co-op Foundation

 

Supported using public funding from the National Lottery through Arts Council England.

Photo by TheOtherRichard.

Click an image to view a larger version.