All events

Ovalhouse and Faith Drama Productions present

Custody

Urban Wolf explores how young black men are slipping through the cracks in society. #WhoIsBrian 

  • Wheelchair Access
  • Wed 5 Jun – Sat 22 Jun, 7:30pm

Running time: 70 mins

Venue: Downstairs

When a young black man, Brian, dies in police custody, it sends shock waves across the community. Reeling from his death, Brian’s family struggle to make sense of their loss, whilst pursuing a lengthy court battle to find justice. Inspired by creator Urban Wolf’s own experiences with the police, this stark and timely play explores how young black men are slipping through the cracks in society. 

Links:

  • Wed 5 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Thu 6 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Fri 7 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Sat 8 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Tue 11 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Wed 12 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Thu 13 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Fri 14 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Sat 15 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Tue 18 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Wed 19 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Thu 20 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Fri 21 Jun, 7:30pm
  • Sat 22 Jun, 7:30pm

By Tom Wainwright and Urban Wolf 

CAST:
Urbain Hayo Brother
Muna Otaru Mother
Ewa Dina Sister
Rochelle James Lover

CREATIVES:
Sarah Wrixon Producer
Will Burgher Lighting Designer
Fran Horler Designer
Gbemisola Ikumelo Director
Kyle Campbell Technical Stage Manager
Ollie Edwards Assistant Stage Manager
Sara Dos Santos Movement Director
Aye-Dele Musical Director 
Dan Bilbrough Composer
Austin Staton Associate Director

Additional information

Recommended age 13+ 

Click an image to view a larger version.