All events

Ovalhouse, Rachel Mars and Greg Wohead present

Gaping Hole (Story #3)

By Rachel Mars and Greg Wohead

Gaping Hole (Story #3) is the third part in a non-linear trilogy about radical narrative. What holes are we prepared to overlook in order to stay comfortable?

  • Fri 8 Nov – Sat 23 Nov, 8:00pm

Running time: 80 mins

Venue: Upstairs

Please note that, regrettably, the upstairs theatre is not currently accessible for wheelchair users.

In the Shawshank Redemption, wrongly convicted Andy Dufresne spends years digging a tunnel to freedom from his prison cell. He hides his work under a large picture of Rita Hayworth. On the day of his escape, Andy crawls his way towards the outside world and perfectly replaces the poster on the wall to mask his escape route. We’re so emotionally satisfied when Andy rips off his prison uniform in the rain that we forget to ask how he could possibly have replaced the poster from inside the tunnel. 

But how *could* he possibly have replaced the poster from inside the tunnel?

What holes are we prepared to overlook in order to stay comfortable?

Following Mars and Wohead’s cult hit Story #1, Gaping Hole (Story #3) is the third part in a non-linear trilogy about radical narrative.

“It’s horrible. Brilliant, scintillating, guillotine catching the sunlight as it falls dazzling, but also horrible.” Maddy Costa on Story #1, Exeunt

BSL interpreted performance Wednesday 20th November, 8pm with signer Jacqui Beckford.

  • Fri 8 Nov, 8:00pm
  • Sat 9 Nov, 8:00pm
  • Mon 11 Nov, 8:00pm
  • Tue 12 Nov, 8:00pm
  • Wed 13 Nov, 8:00pm
  • Fri 15 Nov, 8:00pm
  • Sat 16 Nov, 8:00pm
  • Tue 19 Nov, 8:00pm
  • Wed 20 Nov, 8:00pm
  • Thu 21 Nov, 8:00pm
  • Fri 22 Nov, 8:00pm
  • Sat 23 Nov, 8:00pm

Created and Performed by Rachel Mars and Greg Wohead

Helen Mugridge Production Manager
Nao Nagai Lighting Designer
Deborah Pearson Dramaturg

Additional information

Age recommendation TBC

Main Image Credits:
Christa Holka Photographer
David Curtis Ring Art Direction and Set Design
Alexander Innes Post Production

Production photography by Alex Brenner

Click an image to view a larger version.

Thumbnail of About Gaping Hole (Story #3) video