All events

Switchback, in a co-production with ARC Stockton and in association with Northern Stage

Lucy and the Hawk

4 Star reviews for Lucy And The Hawk from: The Upcoming, Everything Theatre and What's Peen Seen. Click on the links to read the reviews.

Written and directed by Phil Ormrod.
Performed and co-devised by Tom Walton and Abigail Moffatt.

Something's happening to Elliott and Lucy.

He can't seem to concentrate. She feels like someone's following her, and her phone keeps ringing in the middle of the night. And whenever Elliott looks at the sky, a bird is circling, watching him.

  • Tue 9 Oct – Sat 27 Oct, 9:00pm

Preview Tuesday 9 October

Venue: Upstairs

Please note that, regrettably, the upstairs theatre is not currently accessible for wheelchair users.

4 Star reviews for Lucy And The Hawk from: The Upcoming, Everything Theatre and What's Peen Seen. Click on the links to read the reviews.

"...Both actors in this production are remarkable considering the immense physical and vocal performances required of them." Clare McCraith, The Upcoming 

"Lucy and the Hawk is an enjoyable and well thought-out piece, which is at once funny, emotional and energetic. The design is great, and the performances razor-sharp". Louie Corpe, Everything Theatre.

"(Lucy and the Hawk) comes across as warm, mysterious and in many ways romantic." Thomas E Woods, What's Peen Seen.

 

Something's happening to Elliott and Lucy.

He can't seem to concentrate. She feels like someone's following her, and her phone keeps ringing in the middle of the night. And whenever Elliott looks at the sky, a bird is circling, watching him. 

The universe is a big place, and the world is full of people, and maybe we aren’t all so separate as we think.

Lucy and the Hawk is a comedy about loneliness and peregrine falcons. It’s a warm but surprising story that’s part mystery, part peculiar romance, and a love letter to the landscape of Northumberland.

 

"Stylish and provocative... guaranteed to challenge your assumptions" - BBC Manchester (on Homelands, Bolton Octagon Studio)

 

*Free live music after the show: book for TOOT Tunes at the same time as Lucy and the Hawk on Friday 19 Oct and you'll get free admission to this fabulous live music event (usually £3)

Links:

  • Tue 9 Oct, 8:00pm
  • Wed 10 Oct, 8:00pm
  • Thu 11 Oct, 8:00pm
  • Fri 12 Oct, 8:00pm
  • Sat 13 Oct, 8:00pm
  • Tue 16 Oct, 8:00pm
  • Wed 17 Oct, 8:00pm
  • Thu 18 Oct, 8:00pm
  • Fri 19 Oct, 8:00pm
  • Sat 20 Oct, 8:00pm
  • Tue 23 Oct, 8:00pm
  • Wed 24 Oct, 8:00pm
  • Thu 25 Oct, 8:00pm
  • Fri 26 Oct, 8:00pm
  • Sat 27 Oct, 8:00pm

Additional information

Free Post-show Discussion
Tuesday 16 October

Devising With Text
Join director/writer Phil Ormrod and the performer/devisers Abigail Moffat and Tom Walton for a discussion about finding ways to create a text within a devised work, and the challenges this poses - both as a writer and as a performer.

Click an image to view a larger version.

We thought you may like…

TOOT TUNES

Fri 19 Oct, 10:30pm

An evening of gorgeous post-theatre music, including Fiona Bevans and Firestations. FREE when you book for either upstairs or downstairs show on the same evening.